The Race

family, fiance, fitness, goals, half marathon, training

Hey yall!

So Saturday was my big day and I had my race! It was way, way, way colder than anything I had trained for. However, I started off great. I kept up the pace and then I got to a steep hill. I hadn’t trained in a hill quite that steep before. But I pushed through that hill and kept going. After that though, all the little hills started killing me.

image

My mom supported me the biggest and has made subtle hints that I’ll probably do another one. I’m so thankful that she was there for me and pushed me the last 4 miles. I had lost all motivation to keep going. I’m really glad she came and could run the last few miles with me because otherwise I’m not sure I would have pushed myself. I still don’t think I pushed myself the last 4 miles, at least not to the extent I could have.

image

I think for my first race ever and my first half marathon I did really well. I do want to do another one and see if I can figure out my mental block. I have no doubt in my ability anymore but now it’s time to put it to the test and keep it going. My only goal was to finish the race in under 2:30 and I managed to get it into 2:23. If I hadn’t quit pushing myself the last 4 miles I believe I could have done it in 2:15. I’m super excited to find another race and go for that, but not until after I’m married and not stressed about that. It takes a lot of time and training to do a half marathon.

image

Here’s to my fiance for being a huge support and always pushing me. He always told me I could do it and that he was proud of me. All he did through out the whole thing was push me and keep me going when I wanted to give up. I’ve inspired him so much we signed up for a 5k that we will walk together. Because of his pinched nerve he can’t run or jog really. I told him I would walk with him, even though I tend to walk faster than him naturally. I just want him to be healthy, and I feel like doing something with him will help encourage him. And it’s with Bass Pro and you can’t go wrong with that. 😉 

image

Anyways, I’m proud of myself and that’s what counts. I’m taking this week off of lifting and running because it is my first race and I hurt. Hope everyone enjoys their week. 😀

~Fitness Addict~

7 thoughts on “The Race

Leave a Reply

