Mindset

fiance, fitness, goals, training

Hey yall! Sorry it’s been so long since I’ve posted, but I was not feeling that great earlier this week. When you can’t swallow without being in pain, it’s best to not run. Granted that’s not what I wanted to do, but I thought I shouldn’t push it (plus my fiance wouldn’t let me). However, today I finally got a chance to run. My throat was still kind of sore but it wasn’t terrible. I was dying to run. It’s such a stress reliever it is not even funny.

image

My run went extremely well today. I ran extremely well all things considered. I managed to drag my butt out of bed and get up this morning to run. Proud of myself for that. My issue is just getting out of bed, once I get up I am ready to tackle the day. I ended up going 8 miles in roughly 73 minutes. However, I wanted to go 2 hours, but figured since I hadn’t run for a week it would end bad. Towards the end I could feel my hip (jacked it up on my last run). It hasn’t really hurt me, except when I run. After, it was kind of stiff and hurts once in awhile. I’m not sure what’s going on with it. The downside of my hip being an issue is because I broke them about 8 years ago, so it’s hard saying what’s up with it. I’m hoping to get new running shoes soon. Not that it will be the ultimate thing to fix my hip, but I’m hoping it will help a little.

image

Getting to the point of my title is because my fiance said something to me awhile ago that has stuck with me. He told me that my legs were ready for a half marathon, but mentally I was not ready. He got me really thinking about my mental state for this half marathon. In a sense I know he’s right, but the main time I quit thinking I’m ready for it is if I can’t run consistently. But then again, when I start running after a while I sart to think not so helpful thoughts. They’ll be along the lines of “why do I do this to myself,” “what’s the point, ” etc. So now I realize that I have to work on my mental state a great deal of I’m going to succeed as well as I want to. Generally, I don’t have negative thoughts but when it comes to running I apparently have quite a few. I now know what I need to work, which I realize I’ll always have.

image

~Fitness Addict~

One thought on “Mindset

  1. I like the mantra that none of us are running half of anything. Anything you run is the whole thing and it is amazingly further than those who don’t get off the couch. Inspiring stuff.

    Like

Leave a Reply

